Tarp

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

jay91

Tarp

Post by jay91 »

Hi I'm new to this I'm just after some advice on a tarp are they all the same ie cheap eBay ones or more high end stuff also they don't seem to be sold with poles? :)
Trying to ride bikes.
Bearbonesnorm

Re: Tarp

Post by Bearbonesnorm »

are they all the same ie cheap eBay ones or more high end stuff
No, not the same. At best cheap(er) tarps will be PU coated nylon which tends to be thicker and the PU coating is pretty heavy. As price increases you should notice that they become silicone coated (silnylon). This is usually much lighter, packs smaller but just as waterproof. If you want to go mad then Cuben tarps are available.

A 'flat' tarp is usually the most versatile but if you don't want to experiment and just want to use a simple A frame pitch, then a 'cat cut' tarp will make pitching much easier. I'm quite a fan of square tarps but they're not easy to find, most manufactures produce rectangular tarps instead.
they don't seem to be sold with poles?
With regard to poles ... any tarp that comes with a pole(s) will be heavy (I'm thinking Vango and Decathlon). You don't actually require a pole but it can often make life easier and certainly opens up different pitching options. There's a few lightweight pole options out there but not much that's light and packs small* Remember that most tarps won't come with pegs or lines either.

*Hopefully this will be addressed quite soon. ;)
May the bridges you burn light your way
jay91

Post by jay91 »

Ahh thanks for the info I think il be looking at the cheaper option . Sorry for all the questions but what's the best/easiest way to set up a trap I've seen pictures of bike wheels being use. :)
Trying to ride bikes.
Bearbonesnorm

Post by Bearbonesnorm »

Sorry for all the questions but what's the best/easiest way to set up a trap I've seen pictures of bike wheels being use.