Newbie bikepacking tent advice

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

BowlandBikepacking

Newbie bikepacking tent advice

Post by BowlandBikepacking »

Hi all, I'm a newbie bikepacker looking to explore my local area before moving further afield.

I realise there are bivvy and tarp options but I'm looking for tent suggestions. I'm 6'2 and not that slim, and using a long/wide big Agnes mat, so I'm looking for a tent with decent size sleeping area and reasonable porch, that's not too heavy and not hugely expensive!

Any recommendations appreciated :)
redefined_cycles

Re: Newbie bikepacking tent advice

Post by redefined_cycles »

Hi BowlandBping and welcome.

There'll be loadsa advice incoming but mine would be a 2 person Dan Durston (any you like). Not super robust but strong enough and not crazy-priced either.
Bearbonesnorm

Post by Bearbonesnorm »

When you say hugely expensive, just how expensive? £100, £200, £300?

There'll likely be an option that suits at every price point but knowing that point will help narrow things down :wink:
May the bridges you burn light your way
whitestone

Post by whitestone »

Welcome :-bd

Quality, light, cheap. Pick any two... :grin:

Decent tents aren't cheap - there's a lot of manufacturing steps to make them and they aren't high volume sales. If you haven't already, have a look at https://ultralightoutdoorgear.co.uk/ they tend towards the lighter side of things.

The Durston X-mid that Shaf mentions gets very good reviews but be aware that it's sold as a "trekking" tent and it assumes that you are using trekking poles for support so you need to factor in the cost and weight of poles when looking at it.

We've a Big Agnes Copper Spur UL2. There's quite a few similar models from MSR, Alpkit, etc. Good internal space, especially so when you compare it to the overall footprint*, The X-mid does fall short in that regard. I'm 1m80 and couldn't sit up in the MSR version but can do in the Copper Spur.