Mobile cycle mechanic costs.

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

ton

Mobile cycle mechanic costs.

Post by ton »

not for you techy minded folk, but lots of people still take their bikes to shops for repairs, moreso in the last year, and talking to people it is nigh on impossible to get anything done without a month waits.

so £10 per hour + parts for a mobile bike mechanic.

thoughts please.
lune ranger

Re: Mobile cycle mechanic costs.

Post by lune ranger »

Haven’t been to a shop in ages but your cost per hour sounds too low.
I worked in a shop part time at uni - 30years ago - and I’m pretty sure workshop labour was £15/hr then
If you are going through hell, keep going.
WSC
voodoo_simon

Post by voodoo_simon »

That is seriously cheap at £10/hour

I'd expect more like £50/hour (obviously that will then pay towards rent/van/electricity/tax/insurance/buying tools etc)

Most bike mechanics in the trade will get a little bit more than minimal wage but the shop will charge more for the above reasons.

Edit - last shop I worked in offered a basic service for £42, this involved making sure the bike was safe/gear check/cable brake check and would take a mechanic about an hour to do - some took less and some not-so-looked-after bikes took longer, plus parts on top
Last edited by voodoo_simon on Sun Jan 31, 2021 7:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
benp1

Post by benp1 »

Way too cheap I'd say. Even at £25 will you cover basic costs?
redefined_cycles

Post by redefined_cycles »

I would say that's a decent rate to charge Ton if you're doing it from an 'I really enjoy this' POV. I used to set my prices according to the Edinburgh Cycle Cooperative (so I wouldn't overcharge as I take alot longer repariring things/building wheels than most people) if thats of any help
ScotRoutes

Post by ScotRoutes »

Training.
Travel.
Liability insurance.