Blacks Sleeping bags

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

whitestone

Blacks Sleeping bags

Post by whitestone »

As I noted in the Bargain Alert thread, Blacks currently have around 30% off their sleeping bags. I'm considering one of these http://www.blacks.co.uk/equipment/62005 ... g-red.html for three season use (I have a PHD Minimus 200 for summer use and a Rab 1200 :o for colder stuff). Has anyone experience of their bags? I know we are heading in to comparing fill power vs comfort rating vs season vs whatever other marketing hoo-ha :roll: but it's more general thoughts about the quality etc.

A search for reviews brings up:

http://www.walkingforum.co.uk/index.php?topic=25107.0 where one poster seems happy enough with their purchase.
The bags gets linked to in one or two other forums as well but no review.

I'm a fairly warm sleeper so happy with using it at the lower end of the quoted temperature range.

The store (Ultimate Sports) in Skipton has them in stock so I've had hands on one, the down doesn't feel that bad TBH, perhaps the quoted 90/10 down/feather ratio is about right, I don't think I'd be lying on a bed of nails.
Better weight than wisdom, a traveller cannot carry
Bearbonesnorm

Re: Blacks Sleeping bags

Post by Bearbonesnorm »

I've no direct experience but it seems quite expensive for a 'cheap down bag. I know we don't want to be talking about the technical aspects but the fact that they don't tell you how much down's in the thing bothers me. Also the lower temp rating of +5 doesn't realy indicate a 3 season bag - doesn't say whether +5 is the comfort rating or the extreme rating :wink:
May the bridges you burn light your way
whitestone

Post by whitestone »

Curiously the temp rating on the bag's stuff sack goes from -5C presumably as the "extreme" rating, the +5C was about the "comfort" rating. The given ratings on the other bags was in line with this.