best bike for bikepacking?

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

duncdan

best bike for bikepacking?

Post by duncdan »

I've been enjoying my 456 on the sdw and TCW for a few years and it's good but I reckon a rigid 29er would be better or maybe a 29+ or a 650+? Alpkits new 650+ looks V nice. I know it depends on terrain and personal preference blar blar blar. But What's your iron horse of choice?? I don't believe in spending over £1000 and I am happy building the bike and wheels from scratch. Lots of choice out there and I don't want to over look something clever.

Thanks
Scattamah

Re: best bike for bikepacking?

Post by Scattamah »

Wouldn't say there's a best bike for anything, but there's one out there for you somewhere that will fit and get the job done.

I picked up my 2013 Superfly AL Elite from its original owner on that damned auction site for 800 squids last year (retail of 1600). Bloke had already tricked it out too. Good deals to be had if you buy in the off season.

[Edit: The Superfly is a 29er...but I've been out on my 1990's Cadex 26er and had fun]

Greetz

S.
Last edited by Scattamah on Sat Aug 08, 2015 2:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
jam bo

Post by jam bo »

The one you have.
duncdan

Post by duncdan »

May be I should reword my question.

All things being equal would you choose a 26er, 650,b, 650+, fat bike, 29er, 29+?

Never riden a plus or fat bike, how do they perform in this discipline?
JohnClimber

Post by JohnClimber »

duncdan wrote:May be I should reword my question.

All things being equal would you choose a 26er, 650,b, 650+, fat bike, 29er, 29+?

Never riden a plus or fat bike, how do they perform in this discipline?
I've bike packed on 700c, 4" fat, 5" fat, 29er+, 29er, 26er and rode this weekend with someone on a 650+ all have been enjoyable.
I guess it all depends on the trails that you ride.
#NotMuchHelp :oops:
Charliecres

Post by Charliecres »