Bikerafting with children?

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

Filetagebelge

Bikerafting with children?

Post by Filetagebelge »

Hello,

I'm new on this forum. My name is Johnny and I'm British but I live in Belgium. I've been bikepacking for a few years, mostly overnight & weekends. I try to get out at least once a month if possible.
Been lurking on here for a while and have decided to join properly.

I'm bikerafting curious, and I'm trying to find a bikerafting setup that I can use both solo and with my son who's 8 years old.
I'm 188cm tall, sit length is about 120cm. I have a single speed mtb with 27.5x3" tyres. My son is 140cm. He currently rides a bike with 24" wheels. He can already kayak and is a good swimmer. We would mostly do trips on flat water.

I'm trying to work out if it's better to go with a 2 person or a 1 person or 1+1 packraft.

Current possibilities are the following:

- Buy a 1 person packraft for now and then add another for the boy later if he wants. Try to stack our two bikes on the front/rear of the raft. I've been looking at the GP Cargo for this.
- Buy a one person packraft. Use a Brompton or mini velo for me, take the boy's full bike. Again, I'm looking at the GP Cargo raft for this. I've got an old Brompton that's knackered from a few years commuting, so I could use it but would need some money to get it back on the road. I've seen some cheap single speed mini velos for sale second hand, probably less than it would cost to fix the Brompton tbh.
- Buy a smallish 2 person packraft like the Anfibio Sigma. That seems small enough that it could still work solo, but maybe big enough to carry two bikes.

I'm quite interested in the mini velo possibility because it seems you could carry it on a packraft without removing the wheels. Not so much use off road though, of course.