Recommend me a new hardtail

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

ChrisS

Recommend me a new hardtail

Post by ChrisS »

I currently own a XC hardtail (Merida Big Nine in carbon) but I'd like to change it for something a bit more trail friendly that's just going to be more fun to ride on steeper, technical trails. I don't own a full sus and unlikely to get one, so something slacker and rowdier but that will also do for bikepacking/ITT duties as well. 120mm or 130mm travel fork.

I'd like to buy a frame and build it myself because I've never done it before. I could cannibalise the Merida (there are some nice parts including decent wheels with Hope hubs, dropper, carbon bar) or just sell it whole and start from scratch. It has an XT 1-11 drive train, but I would prefer to get 1x12 on the new bike (assuming I can find parts in stock :???: ). Current fork is a 100mm Reba so would need to change that.

Budget would probably be around £2k, plus whatever I can get for the Merida if I sell it whole (I reckon it would cover the cost of a new fork). Or I could sell the frame and fork and swap the wheels over.

Frame material? Dunno. Part of me wants a steel frame, but the other half worries about lugging the extra 2.5kg of bike around. Maybe I won't care if it's fun and capable? Some frames that have caught by eye... Bombtrack Cale, Pipedream Sirius, Salsa Timberjack. Carbon Chameleon is lovely but stretches the budget too much. Any experiences of those bikes or other ideas welcome. Recommendations please! :-bd
Bearbonesnorm

Re: Recommend me a new hardtail

Post by Bearbonesnorm »

New Stooge when they're available?
May the bridges you burn light your way
Bearlegged

Post by Bearlegged »

[Engages "recommend what you already have" mode]

Cotic Solaris? I've found mine very good for bikepacking duties, and Trep is similarly enamoured with hers.