Improving Bikepacking

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

Jacob97

Improving Bikepacking

Post by Jacob97 »

Hi everyone,

I'm a university student in Glasgow and am starting a project on improving bike-packing for beginners. As bike-packing can be quite daunting to start off, I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions to what they think could be improved in the industry? This could be anything from new kit designs, cheaper equipment, increased comfort, improved bike/kit security.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers guys
thenorthwind

Re: Improving Bikepacking

Post by thenorthwind »

Hi, welcome

I think you need to define what you mean by improve. What do these beginners want to change? Perhaps the best way to find that out would be to ask some people who would like to start bikepacking but are, as you say, daunted. There are problem some curious but inexperience folk hanging around here, but most of the regular posters are, as you might expect, more experienced, and so probably don't see any need for improvement (or maybe they do?!).
Bearbonesnorm

Post by Bearbonesnorm »

I appreciate that this might sound odd and also, that it might just be me .... really, I don't think there's anything difficult about bikepacking. Kit, routes, bikes and information are the best they've ever been. Perhaps any problem if one exists lies with people themselves and their own (usually unfounded) fears and maybe even unwillingness to embrace the ups and the downs.

I think there's a reason that bikepacking might be the preserve of middle aged blokes. :wink:

https://bearbonesbikepacking.blogspot.c ... -gent.html

However, I think helping people grasp a better understanding of the RoW network and the best practice for wildcaming, might help lessen those fears.
May the bridges you burn light your way
ScotRoutes

Post by ScotRoutes »