Another sleeping bag question

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

Rob S

Another sleeping bag question

Post by Rob S »

I think I need to replace my crappy old synthetic bag with something warmer/lighter/more packable. The Criterium quantum 200 looks the business, advertised as good to 0*. Would this be ok for three season use if supplemented with leggings and baselayer? I've never used down before so not sure whether to go for the "200" or the "350". If I could get away with the lighter and smaller 200 I would of course. I'm fairly lean at 5 11" and 11 stone so I do feel the cold sometimes, anyone else of my body type? What weight of down would you use around freezing?
Lazarus

Re: Another sleeping bag question

Post by Lazarus »

I have a zero degree rated bag [synethetic but doubt it matters]does me as a three season bag
I have used it in winter nights as well but not sub zero ones

5 ft 9 and 10 stone so equally uninsulated
I am assuming you have a decent mat with a good r rating
Shewie

Post by Shewie »

I use a Cumulus 350 quilt most of the year round, switching to something warmer for the winter months, but I sleep fairly cold as a rule. Sometimes I'll use an Alpkit PD600 but I usually switch over to hammock camping in winter where I use 0*F quilts.
Bearbonesnorm

Post by Bearbonesnorm »

The 200 lofts very well and does give the impression that there's actually more down in there than there really is. It's also baffled rather than stitch-thru which should make a difference. Obviously, it's hard to give a definitive answer but I'd certainly use one down to zero.

I'm just writing the bumph for them to go into the shop. :wink:
May the bridges you burn light your way
whitestone

Post by whitestone »

The EN ratings assume you are wearing a base layer of some sort (I think the tests actually use a shell suit on the mannequin) so if you want to sleep in the buff then they'll feel a bit colder :wink: