Quilt Length

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

Lazarus

Quilt Length

Post by Lazarus »

I am considering getting a Quilt but how long do they need to be ?

As I am 175 cm would a 180 be long enough ? I assume this is the length before being drawn in? but I have no knowledge of quilts or whether the measure is open or closed or whether it matters.
Its three season use so i doubt i will want to put it over my head /hide inside but the option may be useful. I also tend to side sleep if that matters

Its this one because its cheap and seems to get good reviews - a stu link so cheers for that
Two sizes 180 and 200

This dilemma is based on 100 g difference in weight.so I am sure you can understand the importance

https://liteway.equipment/sleeper-quilt
lune ranger

Re: Quilt Length

Post by lune ranger »

When I bought my quilt (EE Enigma) I went for their standard length which they claim to be too short for my height by 5-10cm or so.
It hasn’t been an issue.
I mostly side sleep in a semi foetal position, but I fo switch around a lot.
I can still get it all tucked up around my shoulders and be cosy - not a fan of bits sticking out when I sleep :shock: Obviously my head is because quilts don’t have hoods, but a hat overcomes this.
I’m a little taller than ave at 188cm so have been used to using sleeping bags that are a little short anyway.
If you are going through hell, keep going.
WSC
lune ranger

Post by lune ranger »

I suspect they would recommend 200cm but by my experience you should get away with the 180cm if you’re inclined to save a few grams.
If you are going through hell, keep going.
WSC
Lazarus

Post by Lazarus »

Apparently its 172.5 when zipped up so I am leaning the way you suggest unless the hive mind says differently
whitestone

Post by whitestone »