So: why are racks & panners out of fashion?

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

chrisjones

So: why are racks & panners out of fashion?

Post by chrisjones »

Not that I'm complaining; I'm just interested.

I'm a complete novice when it comes to bikepacking

I've been into cycling of one kind or another for most of my life & have done a lot of wild camping too, but never combined the two until now for some reason.

What has struck me is that everywhere I look I see massive seat packs, frame bags & oversized bottle cages to mount to your forks so you can strap dry bags to them.

So why did people move away from racks & panners? Is it purely a weight thing, fashion, or what?

I'm intreagued.
ScotRoutes

Re: So: why are racks & panners out of fashion?

Post by ScotRoutes »

For me it's a mix of reliability and rideability.

I don't mind panniers on a road bike. Surfaces are relatively and the rack gets an easy life. Take that off-road and the weight can shake a rack to bits.

Panniers are also wide. Some of the narrow, heather-lined tracks I ride would grab at the panniers, causing problems..

Of course, the soft bags also pose less restrictions on frame type, so full suspension etc is perfectly possible whereas FS bikes with racks are a bit of an issue - especially if you have nothing to mount them to.
Richpips

Post by Richpips »

A set of 40 litre ortlieb panniers and a tubus rack weigh 2.5KG

My 17litre seat pack, 20 litre bar bag, harness and a frame bag weigh ~750gms.

Same capacity with a weight saving of 1.75KG
Lazarus

Post by Lazarus »

as noted less practical and heavier
chrisjones

Post by chrisjones »

That's all good stuff- thanks.

Like I said; I'm not a defender of one option or the other, I am just interested to learn why people mover away from using racks & panniers.

It does seem to me that using seat packs & handle bar bags moves the weight of the load up. Do people find that this has any detriment on bike handling?