attaching dry bags to the bike

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

Davesmate

attaching dry bags to the bike

Post by Davesmate »

Hi all, newbie here so firstly hello and thanks for having me. I've bivvy'd and wild camped a few times over the years, just never put it together with the bike so looking forward to getting some bikepacking in this year. I've had an alpkit gourdon 20 for a whille and like it. I've just oredered a couple of the airlock extra dry bags thinking I'll attach one to the bars and one to the seatpost. My question is what to attach them with? I was thinking some sort of buckled velcro strap but can't seem to find anything that fits the bill. What do you guys use?
Mike

Re: attaching dry bags to the bike

Post by Mike »

ul love bikepacking.... well iv brought a wildcat harness n revelate seat pack now but when i started out i found the alpkit dry bags worked super i fixed a 12ltr to my bars using either bungies or straps with those no slip clips on. and again the dry bags work under the seat post but u need the ones with the side loops and bottom loop that way u can secure the bag to the seat post and under the saddle
Ray Young

Post by Ray Young »

You can get the straps yetiman mentions for a few quid from most outdoor shops, think they come in two packs, had mine for years.
gairym

Post by gairym »

the dry-bag/strap set-up is exactly what i used when i was getting started - works fine for getting started.
jamiep

Post by jamiep »

I got straps dirt cheap from ebay, which are excellent
Davesmate

Post by Davesmate »

Thanks all. I went for the airlok extra because they have the "lugs" sewn on to make them easier to strap on.

Jamiep - you got a link? If not what should I type in the search box as everything I try brings up stuff either not what I want or rediculouisly expensive.
jamiep

Post by jamiep »