What Size Spokes?

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

dlovett

What Size Spokes?

Post by dlovett »

This is my first attempt to build a wheel and I just wanted to ask you all a quick question about choosing spokes.

I want to build a pair of lightweight XC racing wheels for my Sonder Vir Fortis Fat bike, using DT Swiss Comp 1.8/2.0 Black spokes with DT Swiss Black, brass, 12mm, Pro Lock Nipples. I am using a pair of DT Swiss XR361 29” rims that are asymmetrical. With a pair of Love Mud Hurleyburly hubs

Love Mud Hurlyburly Front Hub
150 mm Wide, 15 mm axle
CNC’d aluminium hub shell 
6 bolt disc mount
Sealed cartridge bearings
Weight: 192 g
Hole count: 32H
PCD: Left: 55.5 mm; Right: 55.5 mm
Flange to Centre: Left: 47 mm; Right: 59.5 mm

Love Mud Hurlyburly Rear Hub
197 mm Wide, 12 mm Axle
4 pawl with 36 tooth engagement
6 bolt disc mount
Sealed cartridge bearings
CNC’d aluminium freehub
Interchangeable freehub body (Regular Shimano or SRAM XD)
Weight: 316 g
Hole count: 32H
PCD: Left: 55.5 mm; Right: 55.5 mm
Flange to Centre: Left: 62 mm; Right: 46 mm

I have used the DT Swiss calculator and for the Front Wheel (left) it has said 296.5 Accurate and 269 recommended.
for the Rear Wheel (right) it has said 296.3 Accurate and 269 recommended. These are easy to get.

However for the Front Wheel (right) it has said 298.7 Accurate and 299 recommended and Rear Wheel (right) it has said 299.2 Accurate and 299 recommended.

I cannot get the 299 spokes unless I have them cut down to size. Would you recommend doing this or would 298 or 300 be ok?

Many thanks for your help.

Duncan
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-07-17 at 15.40.01.jpg
(108.66 KiB) Downloaded 1008 times
Bearlegged

Re: What Size Spokes?

Post by Bearlegged »

Get 298mm.

I'll always round down unless rounding up would mean an extra 0.4mm or less.
redefined_cycles

Post by redefined_cycles »