Advice please: First time tubeless

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

El Ce

Advice please: First time tubeless

Post by El Ce »

First time posting and brand new to the forum. Hello hello from dreich Edinburgh.
Been lurking for a few days reading up on routes around Scotland and the TNR.

Setting up my first tubeless wheel set today and have an issue I'd appreciate anyone's thoughts on. First one went on fine! Knew that was too easy :shock:

I think I have a small hole in one of the tires. I'm 99% sure it's a small hole rather than the bead just not seating at that point. But I'm new at this...

Tyres are brand new WTB Byways. Think there's a tiny hole just underneath the 'W' in the logo as I try to show in this video https://www.dropbox.com/s/2b879jhrysumj ... e.mov?dl=0 on my dropbox. the sealant on the outside of the tyre is stuff I poured on to it to try and help the sealant do its job and seal up the hole.

Questions for your expert opinions:

A) should I send the tyre back for a replacement as it's defective?

A2) or could this be something I've done in error? didn't take any sharp objects near tyres apart from cutting off the zip-tie which I was super careful about and used snips rather than a knife so was in total control.

B) should the sealant just do it's job and seal up the hole? I let a bit of the pressure off so it wasn't such a fountain of latex (nothing seemed to be coming through the hole just spurting the stuff I was pouring on to it) and whirled the fluid inside around.

Any advice greatly appreciated!
Thanks
Luke
NorwayCalling

Re: Advice please: First time tubeless

Post by NorwayCalling »

The sealant will only work from inside-out, so pouring sealant on the outside of the tyre wont help!

You need to get the sealant you have inside the tyre, to be covering the hole (cant watch the vid as in work). Tip and shake the tyre so the sealant can get to the hole and it should seal if it is only a small hole as you say.