Metal rod bending - racks

Make your own gear? Talk about it here!

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

jameso

Metal rod bending - racks

Post by jameso »

Anyone on here got experience of working with 4-6mm steel rod? Bending tools and methods in a workshop rather than industrial stuff?

Also contacts for batch production of a series of bends to a .DWG file could be useful.
PaulE

Re: Metal rod bending - racks

Post by PaulE »

I've a fair bit of experience playing with and bending rods, hot and cold, while helping kids make projects. I'm a secondary school engineering teacher, so probably no use for batch production but happy to make a 1-off or give advice.
What sort of batch size? I can ask around...
jameso

Post by jameso »

Thanks Paul. For now I'm just trying something out, bending rod with a vice. Any tips for a more accurate way? Wondered if some rounded-end pliers would do it.
fatbikephil

Post by fatbikephil »

Try and get a proper pipe bender. You can get cheapo plumbers ones off ebay which do copper and should manage steel. If its thin wall there is a danger of the tube creasing but you can get spring like mandrels to stop this. As with all tools you can also spend silly money....
PaulE

Post by PaulE »

jameso wrote: Tue May 05, 2020 9:47 pm Thanks Paul. For now I'm just trying something out, bending rod with a vice. Any tips for a more accurate way? Wondered if some rounded-end pliers would do it.
If you're just after a single bend, then I'd go for holding it in a vice and using mole grips or similar to bend it. Probably teaching a grandma to suck eggs, but I always get students to draw a full-sized accurate diagram and frequently check their work on to it.