Perthshire Drovers Route

Share your rides with us.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

jobro

Perthshire Drovers Route

Post by jobro »

Thinking of doing this Markus Stilz route as a 4 or 5 dayer in late May this year.
I have no experience of this area so if anyone on here has done it or knows the route to give me any tips or advise I would be very grateful.

One. slightly odd, question. Is there anywhere on the route that would provide a good chance of seeing Crested Tit? Its a bit of a dream bird for me.

TIA
fatbikephil

Re: Perthshire Drovers Route

Post by fatbikephil »

Some of it is really good but there are two horrendous hike a bike bits which would spoil it for many users. Some of the feedback is interesting.... Its also a mountainbike route, not a gravel bike route. If I were you I'd get its GPX file, get an OS map out and make a few mods to avoid the two bits where there is no trail, plenty of options. Robbie Lyall on here produced a 200k gravel route around perthshire which is far more straightforward and more like what you could do on 40mm tyres.

Re birdies, I haven't a clue, sorry!
jobro

Post by jobro »

Thanks Phil
Off hand do you know what days the hikeabike bits are as listed on the separate GPX?
fatbikephil

Post by fatbikephil »