Starter Sleeping Bag?

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

somersetpaul

Starter Sleeping Bag?

Post by somersetpaul »

Yes I know.... there are probably ,000s of posts on here about bags but................. what can people recommend?

1. Under £70ish
2. Small pack size
3. Not concerned about what filling (synthetic, down, etc)
4. I am a warm sleeper

Give me some ideas, please....

Thank you
whitestone

Re: Starter Sleeping Bag?

Post by whitestone »

Is this for summer use? I've a synthetic filled Snugpack bag, not a tiny pack size but certainly not voluminous. Just checked their site and they have a few models suitable for summer - http://www.snugpak.com/outdoor/sleeping ... =249%2C250

My bag is probably twenty years old so I've no experience of their current range.
Better weight than wisdom, a traveller cannot carry
ootini

Post by ootini »

Ben98

Post by Ben98 »

Snugpak softie 3, http://www.snugpak.com/outdoor/offers/s ... -clearance
Used mine down to about 0, still going strong after nearly 4 years. If you're anywhere near the factory in silsden go in and the one I linked to is £35 direct.
Trail-rat

Post by Trail-rat »

i started with a traveler 3 .... i live in scotland and the midge net cover over the hood is a godsend on midsummer bivvies.

be careful its addictive.... I now have a NF blue kazoo down bag for frosty nights and im looking for a lightweight low pack summer bag now
somersetpaul

Post by somersetpaul »

Thanks Ben98..... just ordered one so fingers crossed it gets here quickly
Templogin

Post by Templogin »

Sometimes worth looking online at Field and Trek for decent prices. Part of Sports Direct though, so you haven't got to mind zero hours contracts. I got a slim down bag from them for £82, but I don't think it would be much use in winter. Robens was the make.