GPS Gobbledygook

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

gairym

GPS Gobbledygook

Post by gairym »

I recently bought a Garmin eTrex Legend HcX to help me navigate on my big Alps trip but.....

I've never used a GPS device before and I can't make any sense of any aspect of what I'm supposed to do, what needs installing, where do I get maps from, how do I get them, how do I plan routes, how do I transfer them onto my device, how do I use them once they're on there?????

In short - what the hell do I do?

Why is it so complicated?

Isn't there a idiots guide to all this nonsense?

HELP!!!!!

Any assistance would be massively appreciated and sorry for being a techno-moron.

Cheers, Gairy.
Blackhound

Re: GPS Gobbledygook

Post by Blackhound »

Maps are supplied on mini SD which may be in your machine, behind or next to the batteries. When you turn it on a map will show if you have one. They can be bought from Garmin such as here:

https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=31801

but check locally for better deals. You should also have a disc to install on your computer(Trip and Waypoint Manager) which will have a world base map and you can transfer routes using this program onto your device. Quite straight forward when the program is installed. Not sure how you create your own though.

If I, for instance, was to send you a gpx route you should be able to download it to your Garmin with this. I *think* you can download a route to your device straight from your PC to the Garmin with the supplied cable.

Hope this is a start.
gairym

Post by gairym »

Blackhound wrote:Maps are supplied on mini SD which may be in your machine, behind or next to the batteries. When you turn it on a map will show if you have one. They can be bought from Garmin such as here:
Yeah, I read about that but.....I didn't receive an Unlock Code thing form the previous owner and so apparently can't buy maps from Garmin (not sure if this is true).