Quilt for a 13 yr old

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

middleagedmadness

Quilt for a 13 yr old

Post by middleagedmadness »

Anybody got any experiences with M.E helium quilt hasn't got the fill power of a cumulus but they are putting " a good night's sleep at 5c" ,looking for a quilt for the young fella as he doesn't get on with bags ,or am I better getting him a cumulus 250 ,he's a bit fair weather at the moment so can't seem him using it any later than October
Cheers
Stuart
Bearbonesnorm

Re: Quilt for a 13 yr old

Post by Bearbonesnorm »

I've no direct experience of the Helium quilt but on paper it looks okay. The spec indicates that it won't be as warm as a Cumulus 250 ... lower fp, stitch through and less insulation. However, if you off-set that against the price and you think it'll be warm enough for him, then it looks fine.
May the bridges you burn light your way
middleagedmadness

Cheers stu , thinking I may just take the hit on the cost of the Cumulus now ,and I can use it over my bag through the winter,what's more annoying is bought him a helium bivy last week and had a email today from another company that they have them at £50 cheaper , that's 25 pints in my local :cry:
ScotRoutes

Post by ScotRoutes »

Send the more expensive one back?
middleagedmadness

ScotRoutes wrote:Send the more expensive one back?