Where too start?

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

nrimmer1005

Where too start?

Post by nrimmer1005 »

I'm new to bikepacking and hoped to get a little help and advice from people across the internet.

I've done a few long distance Audax rides and wanted to venture into something similar but also different. I have a trip planned for end of May

Glasgow - Oban - Hebridean Way.

I'm after some help with resources about where I could do some practice one night rides based from or around Towcester (Northamptonshire) area.

Also any kit advice would be grateful
I have
Bike - Specialized Roubaix with gravel handlebar (Alpkit Mud Bombers) and will have gravel/road tyres fitted soon.

Quechua Ultra lightweight hiker tent, sleeping bag and lightweight mat.

My main shortage is bags, although I do have a Lomo 13L seat bag ordered.

Everything else is to be decided on as yet.
New Blog - https://ouryearmicroadventuring.blogspot.co.uk/

Instagram - @neilrimmer1005
Richpips

Re: Where too start?

Post by Richpips »

Welcome.

Sounds like you have most of the stuff you might need already.

I don't know your locale, but the general idea is set up camp late and leave early and you'll be fine.
Pirahna

Post by Pirahna »

nrimmer1005 wrote:
I'm after some help with resources about where I could do some practice one night rides based from or around Towcester (Northamptonshire) area.
Just had a look on bridlewaymaps.com, there doesn't seem to be too much around Towcester. Why not head over towards Bedford, St Neots, Cambridge area? I ride over that way sometimes and campsite if I'm taking a tent or bivy bag if roughing it.

I find Bridlewaymaps.com is handy for planning a rough route, after that I get the OS maps out and plan it properly (Bing maps has an OS layer). Work out which pub you want to go to, whether you want to rough camp or campsite and take it from there.

Do you have a Garmin and any OS maps? I'm guessing not but use Basecamp if you do.