pannier rack

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

musomaniac

pannier rack

Post by musomaniac »

hi everyone , just found this forum , and as i'm totally new to bikepacking i have a few questions lol

the bike i would like to use is my giant defy adv pro 2 disc , but i can't seem to find a suitable rack which would fit it for panniers , would anyone know if there is indeed such a rack to fit this bike , its also all carbon .

if there is nothing suitable pannier wise , what else would you recommend for stowage , my tent is a vango chinook 2 man which i expect isn't the lightest at 3.7kg , so that was one of the reasons i was looking at panniers , where i would be able to lie the tent across the top or between the panniers .

my only other bike is a full blown racing bike , and i can't afford a one thats bikepacking specific

i would really like to give this a go but i'm stuck between a rock and a hard place at the moment

appreciate any help you can give me
whitestone

Re: pannier rack

Post by whitestone »

The potential problem is the carbon frame of your bike. While it should be OK, it's not really designed to have point loads where you'd fit a pannier rack especially when bouncing around off-road.

One option might be something like the Arkel Radonneur - https://www.ghyllside.co.uk/arkel-rando ... 5-M55NKjwM My wife uses one on her fat bike as the doesn't have enough room to use a bikepacking style saddle bag.

A second option would be to split the tent up and have it in different places on the bike: poles across the front of the handlebars, etc.
Better weight than wisdom, a traveller cannot carry
Bearbonesnorm

Post by Bearbonesnorm »

Have you any rack eyelets either on the forks or frame? If not, then I'd steer well clear of using a rack (more so than usual) as whatever you use to fit a rack won't be brilliant and will always be something of a bodge.
May the bridges you burn light your way
lune ranger

Post by lune ranger »