plot a route help

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

windjammer

plot a route help

Post by windjammer »

want to plot a route and then download it to my etrex 30,ill be riding the trail myself at the weekend but im a novice at this kind of thing but want to learn how to do it,whats the best website to use.thanks matt
chris n

Re: plot a route help

Post by chris n »

bikehike, gpxeditor or ridewithgps all seem to work ok, though there are others. Plot your route, save as a track, copy to the GPX folder on your etrex, then follow the line on screen.
Bearbonesnorm

Post by Bearbonesnorm »

I use bikehike Matt. I find it the easiest to use - just plot the route, save as a gpx TRACK then either to desktop or gps.

... and Chris got there first :wink:
May the bridges you burn light your way
windjammer

Post by windjammer »

ScotRoutes

Post by ScotRoutes »

There's also plotaroute.com. I've just started using it and it supports all the GPX file types.
AndyTheBikeGuy

Post by AndyTheBikeGuy »

Does anyone have any recommendations for a site that works on mobile for plotting routes? My laptop has gone kaput and I like tweaking rides when I've got the paper maps out, which is a bit tricky in the office.
In Reverse

Post by In Reverse »

AndyTheBikeGuy wrote:Does anyone have any recommendations for a site that works on mobile for plotting routes? My laptop has gone kaput and I like tweaking rides when I've got the paper maps out, which is a bit tricky in the office.
You can do it on the Viewranger app but I find it incredibly fiddly and annoying. I suspect most mouse-less route plotting will be similar tbh.
padonbike

Post by padonbike »

chris n wrote:bikehike, gpxeditor or ridewithgps all seem to work ok, though there are others. Plot your route, save as a track, copy to the GPX folder on your etrex, then follow the line on screen.