Bugoutbike project

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

OscarMike

Bugoutbike project

Post by OscarMike »

Hi everyone. i have a question a little different to what you guys are probably used to. i work in a small bike shop in the hauge netherlands. i am new to bikes and dont have any experience in bikepacking. i understand that you guys are the experts when it comes to transporting gear from A to B and surviving in the countryside in the process. my boss is a prepper and has been working on a project for some time now building a bugout bike. for himself and possibly potential customers. basically its a bike which is rugged and can carry a lot of gear long distance in a "end of the world as we know it" senario. might sound a little crazy to some of you but i assure you its a fun project. the bike he is currently building is a surly ogre with 3" tires rack on the back and plenty of bags attached.
basically my boss has asked me if i could design and put together my own bugout bike. the problem is i have no idea where to start. i need to look for a good sturdy frame which can handle fat tires, for offroad use, has plenty of mounting points for racks and bags and is comfortable to ride long distances. i would like a frame with front suspension but im not sure if its practical. i assumed you guys would be the perfect people to ask as you guys are experts in surviving long periods of time using just the gear you take with you. if you could help me out with choosing a frame or even just post your setups to give me an idea of what to look for. i could just go with surly but i want to do something different from my boss. i want to impress him with a unique setup.
thanks in advance. :smile:
Bearbonesnorm

Re: Bugoutbike project

Post by Bearbonesnorm »