Power Meters in Bikepacking

Talk about anything.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

GregMay

Power Meters in Bikepacking

Post by GregMay »

<science hat>

Probably not aware for many that my background is in performance physiology. PhD concerned with ultra-endurance physiology, working with RAAM and other such riders. Who knows why I am so slow, but I digress.

I've noticed a trend over the past few years - first in 24hour racing, now in bikepack racing - for riders to race with power-meters. A side shot of JP this year shows him on a Quarg, few other bikes I've seen running Stages, at least one looked like it was on a Power2Max - but it could have been Quarg (too much mud to make out!).

For those interested I had a power meter during the training for HTR in 2013, used one for a few ITTs over the years, and had one training for the TDR last year. I think I've had one in some form since 2008! I've used one heavily while preparing, and racing for WEMBO in 2015 and other 24hour races - my 3rd place at WEMBO wouldn't have happened if I wasn't using one as it let me pace smarter. But I digress.

What I'm really interested in is to know how they are being used by the fast folk for racing?

Main use as I see it - CHO/Fat utilisation. Something I've used with UE athletes for years across RAAM/RAI/24-Solo/Ironman racers. You go to a lab, connected to a full breath by breath metabolic system, and over a few hours you spend time at different power outputs for chunks of time (10-15mins). You can calculate from the expired C02 and inspired O2 volume how many grams of CHO and Fat you are using at a given power output. It's not a fun, or interesting test. Generally get the UE athletes to turn up after they've already being riding for 3/4 hours so that we know they are primed so to speak.