Recommend me a beginner route with bothy near Edinburgh.

Questions and answers about routes.

Moderators: Bearbonesnorm, Taylor, Chew

Ray Young

Recommend me a beginner route with bothy near Edinburgh.

Post by Ray Young »

Hi, I'm after a very easy route for a complete beginner (both to bikes and bothies) with an overnight bothy stay within two hours drive of Edinburgh. Any suggestions?
fatbikephil

Re: Recommend me a beginner route with bothy near Edinburgh.

Post by fatbikephil »

Kettleton byre from moffat?
Up the back road west of the town into the forest of Ae, about 15k of forest roads to the back road that goes to the north of Ae forest, leave this at the Garoch water then over the Garroch to Kettleton Byre. Its about 23 miles of generally easy going (the garroch pass is a track but a bit rough). Got a GPX file if you want.

Or else something involving Bunnies bothy in the Lammermuirs. Could use the capital trail route either from the north or south??
Ray Young

Post by Ray Young »

Hi Phil, yes a gpx would be nice thanks, youngray50ATgmailDOTcom. I have considered bunnies and not ruled it out yet.
AlasdairMc

Post by AlasdairMc »

Melgarve from anywhere? Leave the car at Laggan and then it's an easy road up to Melgarve, or if you were feeling adventurous you could pop over the Corrieyairack to Blackburn.

Rowchoish from Rowardennan? It's an easy track, with the access possibly being better from the far side of the bothy. It's pretty spartan though.
Ray Young

Post by Ray Young »

Thanks for the suggestions, I'll look into them. Looks like a late September or early October ride now.
Blair512

Post by Blair512 »

Brattleburn is a fairly easy ride in from Moffat Ray, by far my favourite bothy so far. Have you gone soft looking for a beginner route or are you taking company?
AlasdairMc

Post by AlasdairMc »

One more, although it's possibly slightly pushing the two hour drive time: